How to lock your Facebook profile? Or, how to unlock?

  • You can lock your Facebook profile and hide your posts and photos from the public.
  • When you lock your profile, your all previous and future posts will be visible to your friends only.
  • Once you unlock your Facebook profile, everything will go back to as they were before you have locked your Facebook profile.
  • You can lock your Facebook profile from Android, iPhone and Computer.

Facebook is selling user data themselves but they are trying their best to ensure your privacy. If you feel like you don’t want the public to view your profile picture, posts or photos on your timeline, you can lock your facebook profile.

When it was initially released, it was not available for all accounts. But as of now, it’s available to every Facebook user. It takes only a few clicks to secure your data from the public.

If your profile is locked and if a person who is not your friend will see the message: “Only his/her friends can see what he shares on his timeline.” As well as they won’t be able to view your full profile picture or cover photo.

How to lock Facebook Profile?

  1. Open the Facebook app on your smartphone. Open Facebook APp
  2. Tap on your profile picture. 
  3. Tap on the menu icon. Tap on Menu Icon
  4. Click on Lock Profile. Click on Lock Profile
  5. Click on Lock your profile. Lock your profile
  6. You will see a pop-up that says “You’ve locked your profile.You have locked your profile

How to Unlock Facebook Profile?

If you feel like you want a bigger Facebook presence, you may want to unlock your Facebook profile and the process is almost the same as locking your profile. You can do it from your smartphone or computer. I am using a smartphone in this example.

  • Open the Facebook app on your device.
  • Tap on your profile picture.
  • Tap on the Menu icon. Tap on Menu Icon
  • Click on Unlock Profile. Click on Unlock Profile
  • Tap on Unlock. Tap on Unlock
  • Click on Unlock Your Profile. Unlock your profile
  • You will see a pop-up that says “You’ve unlocked your profile”. You have unlocked your profile

If you unlock your profile, more people will be able to visit your Facebook profile, see your posts and photos. If that’s what you want, it’s ideal not to lock your Facebook profile.

The locking/unlock process is the same for both Facebook app and website. If you don’t have the Facebook app installed on your device, you can use a browser from your smartphone/computer to follow the steps mentioned above.