- You can delete your yahoo account at any time, but it will take up to 30 days for Yahoo to delete the account.
- Within this 30 days period, you can log in any time to reactivate your account.
- If you have your Yahoo account with British Telecommunications (BT), you have to contact them directly to delete your Yahoo account.
Deleting a yahoo account means deleting all data on Yahoo and its associate services such as Flickr. But it doesn’t cancel the automatic charges of Yahoo subscriptions.
You have to cancel all the premium subscriptions in order to avoid any charges in the future. After that, you can apply to delete your Yahoo account.
How to delete your Yahoo account?
1. Visit the Manage Subscriptions page and make sure to cancel any premium subscription you have. If you don’t have an active subscription, the page will look like this.
2. Now visit Yahoo Delte User page. If you aren’t logged in, it will ask you for the username and password. If you are already logged in, the page will look like this:
3. Click on Continue delete my account button and it will take you to the next page.
4. Yahoo will ask you to confirm your email address before deleting your account. Enter your Yahoo email and click on Yes, terminate this account.
5. Your account will be deactivated and scheduled for deletion. It will be deleted after 30 days, for some countries it may take up to 90 days.
6. Click on Got it. It will take you to the Yahoo homepage.
How to reactivate a Yahoo account?
Even if you hit the delete button, Yahoo gives you 30 days to think about it. If you want to come back, you are always welcome within this time frame.
1. Visit mail.yahoo.com. It will take you to the login page of your Yahoo account.
2. Enter your email account and click on the Next button.
3. Click on the Yes, send me a code. You will received a six digit verification code on your registered number.
4. Enter the verification code and click on Verify.
5. Solve the captcha to prove that you are not a robot.
6. Create a new password for your yahoo account. Click on the Continue button.
7. You will receive a message that You’ve successfully created a new password.
8. Click on the Continue button and it will take you to the Yahoo Mail page.
What happens when you delete your Yahoo account
Flickr data is gone
If you were using Flickr for pictures, all data will be gone forever once your account is deleted. It isn’t possible to recover the data once an account is deleted.
The username will be available again
Your Yahoo email is basically your [email protected]. So, if you delete your account permanently, the username will be available for reuse. If someone uses your email address in the future, he/she will be receiving the emails meant for you.
You will not receive any email
Once your email address is deleted and not recycled, all emails sent to your address will bounce back and the sender will receive a delivery failure message. So, make sure to tell your friends and colleagues that you have deleted your yahoo email.
Cancel the subscriptions before deleting your yahoo account
You have to manually cancel all the premium subscriptions from the Yahoo Subscriptions page. Or else, you would be charged for the active services.