How to Deactivate Facebook Messenger

  • Once upon a time, you only had to deactivate your Facebook account and the messenger will automatically deactivate.
  • Now you need to separately deactivate Facebook messenger after deactivating your Facebook account.
  • You can continue messaging after deactivating your account if you choose to do so.

Messenger is a separate service of Facebook for instant messaging which doesn’t require your profile to be active. It can operate despite deactivating your Facebook profile.

You can deactivate your Facebook profile using the Facebook mobile app/browser. But to deactivate Facebook messenger, you must have the messenger app on your smartphone. However, I have figured out a way to deactivate Facebook messenger from a browser.

If you don’t have the messenger app on your device, you can use the browser trick from a mobile browser or computer.

Deactivate Facebook Messenger on iPhone/Android

  • Open the Messenger app.
  • Tap your profile picture in the left corner.
  • Click on Legal & Policies
  • Then click on Deactivate messenger.
  • Enter the password.
  • Tap continue and then click on Deactivate

Deactivate Facebook messenger from a web browser

  • Go to Settings on Facebook.
  • Click on Security and Login.
  • Under Where You’re Logged In tab, click on See more.
  • Click on Log Out Of All Sessions
  • A pop-up will appear. Click Log out button from the pop-up.
  • It will log you out from Facebook messenger.
  • Now, deactivate your Facebook ID, as you normally do.
  • Both your ID and messenger will be deactivated.

Final words: 

Let me clear the topic simply for you. If you deactivate your account from the browser or want to deactivate your account totally, you have to deactivate the profile from the browser and messenger from the messenger app.

If you don’t deactivate your messenger people won’t be able to visit your profile, but they can communicate with you using messenger. Using messenger won’t reactivate your profile.

But, if you deactivate both your profile and messenger, then login into the messenger will also reactivate your Facebook account. And, mind it, deleting a Facebook account and deactivating a Facebook account are two different actions.